About Us

Welcome to the Division of Education

The Division of Education Teacher Credential Program opened its doors for the fall semester of 1959 when San Diego State University was established in Imperial Valley. It had been discovered that only sixty percent of Imperial County's and eastern San Diego County's teachers held the required credentials.  Therefore, the California State Legislature funded the creation of four centers in then "remote" areas of California.  Each center had a goal to bring higher educational opportunities to populations who were denied access due to isolation.

The first academic year, 1959,  two faculty members and a support staff team of two, awarded fourteen students degrees in elementary education and the elementary teaching credentials.  Even though the campus has grown steadily over the years and new majors have been added, teacher education has remained the central focus. In the XXII century, we now have over 80 students annually who earn their teaching credentials. 

The demand for elementary and secondary teachers is dramatically increasing. Current growth in student enrollment and the need to replace teachers who retire combine to forecast a significant increase in new teacher hiring during the next decade. Students in California’s public schools reflect a wide variety of ethnic, linguistic, and cultural backgrounds.   The faculty of the Division of Education at the Imperial Valley Campus of San Diego State University are committed to preparing teachers to ensure the academic success of all students.

Credentials and Programs offered by San Diego State University/Imperial Valley, Division of Education, are accredited by the Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

Division of Education Contact Info

Susana Lopez
Office: West Faculty 179
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Email: [email protected]